The Scots on the Miramichi River

Have you ever felt a connection to something or somewhere but could never understand why? A longing deep down in your soul, like a piece of you is missing. That’s the best way I can describe my love of my Scottish ancestry. Growing up I was always told the stories of how my ancestors arrived to New Brunswick hundreds of years ago. The thing that intrigues me the most about genealogy is the mystery, as much as we dig we will never truly know everything. While I do have some English, Irish, German and African roots it’s the Scottish that has taken hold of me and driven this love of everything Scotland. Yes, like thousands of others I had my DNA tested and I was almost nervous to get the results. Seventy-three percent Scottish was my answer and it made me feel like I finally knew who I was. This led to my husband and I backpacking through Scotland for two weeks. No I didn’t want to come home but hey here we are! So, this is why I have chosen to write about the historic Scottish places in Miramichi, New Brunswick! Did you know that there is a Scottish Festival there too? August 19-21, 2022 is when the celebrations occur. Let’s explore some of my favorites spots on the Mighty Miramichi River.

I left a piece of my heart in Scotland
My heart's in the Highlands, my heart is not here, 
My heart's in the Highlands, a-chasing the deer; 
Chasing the wild-deer, and following the roe, 
My heart's in the Highlands, wherever I go.

Farewell to the Highlands, farewell to the North, 
The birth-place of Valour, the country of Worth ; 
Wherever I wander, wherever I rove, 
The hills of the Highlands for ever I love. 
Robert Burns

Wilson’s Point Historic Site

The point of land that divides the great Miramichi River into the Northwest and Southwest branches has gone by a few names since the 1700s. Camp d’esperance, Boishebert’s Point, Beaubear’s Point and currently Wilson’s Point. The area is traditional territory of the M’ikmaq but over time was used as a refuge for Acadians during the expulsion (1755-1764) as well until the land was granted to William Davidson a settler of Scottish birth in 1765. With the promise of settling the land (this includes the area we know now as Newcastle) he was granted 100,000 acres with fishing and timber rights, thus is the beginning of what we know today as the city of Miramichi. Wilson’s Point was the focal point with businesses, church and even a tavern built over time, establishing lumber, fishing and shipbuilding. The many tales of William Davidson and the first settlers of Miramichi can be heard from the knowledgeable tour guides at the Historic Site that exists today. I don’t claim to be any historical expert, just a enthusiast so if this has captured your interest be sure add it to your list of stops in the area. Boasting beautiful views of the magnificent Miramichi River, the walking trails wind through the ancient forest of pines and maples. Frequented by local artists, historians and bass fishing enthusiasts Wilson’s Point has something for everyone. Don’t be surprised when you come across gravestones, as this is the burial place of Scottish settlers and William Davidson himself! A peaceful and serene resting place of our Scottish ancestors. The St. James Church Replica Interpretive center is your starting point for all of your queries, view artifacts that have been discovered on site and maybe learn something new about Wilson’s Point.

For More Information Check Out The Links

MacDonald Farm

Nestled along the bank of the Miramichi River in Bartibog, New Brunswick stands a historic landmark of another well known Scottish settler. Alexander MacDonald happens to be my husband’s fourth great grandfather and so many others in the area can claim connection to this native Scotsman. Arriving from Ardnamurchan, Argyllshire, Scotland after enlisting during the Revolutionary War Alexander MacDonald overtime would find himself in the Miramichi River area in 1784. Although the farmhouse that stands today was not built until 1815-1820. A major-commandant of the local militia, overseer of parish offices and raising a large family are some of the historical facts that are known of him.

Currently a popular family friendly tourist spot, it’s the perfect attraction to transport yourself to the 1820s. Visit the interpretive centre and gift shop as you wait to hitch a ride on on the horse drawn wagon. Down the beaten path with a canopy of trees over your head, as you round the corner the homestead comes into view. It feels as if nothing has changed over hundreds of years. Cows are grazing, a young calf follows his mother closely, chicken are pecking and the goats are bleating a welcome. Off you go to explore Alexander MacDonald’s home, guided by the costumed tour guides who will provide you with interesting facts and details of the family who resided here. I find myself wishing each time I visit wishing that I lived here! The traditions and sometimes harsh way of life is clearly seen at this Scottish historic landmark.

For More Information Check Out These Links

I can’t wait to teach my son the history along the Miramichi River and his connections.

Miramichi Scottish Festival

For more information about the upcoming Scottish Festival, check out the above link!

The Highland Society of New Brunswick at Miramichi Website

Leave a comment

All dates and historical names were fact checked using the websites linked above. Thank you to the Highland Society of New Brunswick at Miramichi it’s continued efforts and perservation.

Leave a comment